Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Who runs the SBPT?

The Somerset Building Preservation Trust is an independent body and consists of up to 18 Trustees who hold Board meetings 3 times a year.  It is a registered charity and a company limited by guarantee.  The Trust consists of:

  • Up to 2 elected councillors nominated by the Somerset County Council
  • 5 elected councillors nominated by the 5 District Councils in Somerset, which are
    •             Mendip District Council
    •             Sedgemoor District Council       
    •             South Somerset District Council
    •             Taunton Deane District Council
    •             West Somerset Council
  • Up to 11 experts, ranging from construction engineers to architects to Civic Society representatives etc, all of whom have a considerable knowledge about the conservation of our historic built heritage

The Trustees elect their own Chairman

Membership of the Board

  • President:  Mr Ralph Clark, founder Chairman                                                                              
  • Chairman: Russell Lillford:  recently retired Head of Historic Heritage, Somerset County Council
  • Vice Chairman: Mr Mike Foden:  Development and construction expert, including the historic built heritage: (previously Chairman of SBPT)
  • Mr Patrick Brown, retired conservation architect and university lecturer
  • Councillor John Brunsdon, MBE:  Mendip District Council
  • Councillor Tony Grimes, Sedgemoor District Council
  • Councillor Hugh Davies; West Somerset District Council
  • Mr John Foden:  Retired Architect:  Taunton and District Civic Society
  • Councillor David Fothergill:  Somerset County Council
  • Councillor Marcia Hill, Taunton Deane Borough Council
  • Counciller Shane Pledger: South Somerset District Council
  • Mr David Gordon:  Historic Built Heritage Conservationist
  • Mr Ray Stokes, Chairman Castle House Taunton Management Trust
  • Mrs Angela Yeoman, OBE, DL:  Founder Vice-Chairman of the SBPT



  • Jane St John Webster, Secretary
  • Ann Manders, Treasurer and Co Secretary

Main contact:

Secretary to the SBPT:   Jane St John Webster Tel no. 07968 083741   E-mail: